X

First Ride: Rockshox Monarch & Monarch Plus DebonAir 2015

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 debonair monarch plus-4

Not content with making a dramatic impact on the suspension fork market with the class leading Pike, RockShox have now turned their attention to their rear shocks too! They have just announced a new technology, the DebonAir, which will be rolled out over their Monarch range. DebonAir shocks come with the same distinctive black treatment as the RockShox Pike’s stanchions giving it a sick pro-look. But what is this „DebonAir“ technology all about? And more importantly, how does the shock perform? Continue reading for our first impression on Moab’s finest trails.

Jed Douglas, RockShox Product Manager, explains the DebonAir technology.

DebonAir technology is available on Monarch and Monarch Plus models. There is an upgrade kit for previous model years.

DebonAir technology is available on Monarch and Monarch Plus models. There will also be an upgrade kit for previous model years.

In order to make the Monarch dampers more sensitive and plusher than ever before RockShox have changed the volume of the air chambers. By increasing the volume in the negative as well as the positive chamber, the shock will deliver a more linear spring curve.

While the damping technology stays the same, the DebonAir models have a new air can which makes a big difference in the shock's performance.

While the damping technology stays the same, the DebonAir models have a new air can which makes a big difference to the shock’s performance.

According to RockShox the Monarch Plus DebonAir requires approximately 30% less force to start the shock moving into its travel, compared to the current Monarch Plus models, resulting in a more sensitive ride with more traction.

Left: Monarch Plus DebonAir air reservoir. Right: current air reservoir.

Left: Monarch Plus DebonAir air chamber. Right: current air chamber with less volume.

The DebonAir technology is available as an option on Monarch RT3 and as the standard configuration on Monarch Plus RC3. The good news for those who already have a Monarch or Monarch Plus rear shock, is that the new air can will be available as an upgrade for any MY14 Monarch/Monarch Plus and MY13 Monarch RT3.

Moab's Captain Ahab trail offers some very technical climbing with steep ramps as well as rough underground to put the Monarch Plus DebonAir's performance to the test.

Moab’s Captain Ahab trail offers some very technical climbing with steep ramps as well as rough terrain to put the Monarch Plus DebonAir’s performance to the test.

So how’s the performance on the trail?

To be honest it’s hard to tell how a rear shock actually performs if you don’t have a direct comparison. With many suspension designs using different spring rates and curves, a rear shock’s performance is heavily influenced by the bike’s kinematics and the shock tune.

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 debonair monarch plus

Luckily I have been testing a Giant Trance Advanced SX (which was the provided test bike in Moab to test the Monarch Plus DebonAir) for several months with a complete Fox suspension setup before coming to Moab. As I knew how the bike felt with a fox suspension setup, it would be easier to draw comparison as we were very impressed with the Fox Float X rear shock, an awesome and capable shock.

Pedalling up sandy and rocky terrain you feel that the Monarch Plus is very sensitive to small bumps offering loads of traction in loose climbs. For steep ramps and power sections we switched to the mid-compression setting to stay higher in the travel and push the bike actively over the very grippy slickrock sections where efficiency is all!

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 Rock Shox monarch plus debonair-4

In the downhill sections the Monarch Plus DebonAir was very impressive, as expected for a plusher unit. Great traction and absorbing capabilities mix with a feel of never-ending travel. So endless in fact that sometimes results in the question, where exactly are you in the travel?

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 Rock Shox monarch plus debonair

Bottom-line: The DebonAir technology adds a significant performance benefit to the Monarch and Monarch Plus models for those who are looking for better traction and bump absorbing capabilities. For steep uphills we recommend making use of the mid-compression setting to stay higher in the travel and pedal more active over obstacles.

RockShox Monarch DebonAir models will be available in June 2014. Monarch RT3 DebonAir will be available from $365 / 324€, Monarch Plus RC3 DebonAir from $499 / 444€. The DebonAir Upgrade Kit comes in at $115.50 / 104.21€.

More info: www.sram.com/rockshox

Words: Robin Schmitt Photos: Adrian Marcoux, Margus Riga

New: Subscribe to the ENDURO Edition on Google Currents and experience our online articles in a new & beautiful way on all your mobile devices. Try it now - it's free!

??????????
Race Report: Enduro Pillipinas Series – Mount Panamao

The Enduro Pilipinas Series kicked off its second season at Biliran Island on 23 March 2014. Situated 960 kilometers south...

Schließen

X

First Ride: Rockshox Monarch & Monarch Plus DebonAir 2015

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 debonair monarch plus-4

Nachdem RockShox mit der Pike einen ordentlichen Treffer im Federgabel-Segment gelandet hat, sind jetzt die Dämpfer dran. Beim SRAM Trailhouse in Moab wurde die DebonAir-Technologie präsentiert, die in der kompletten Monarch-Dämpferpalette Anwendung findet. DebonAir-Dämpfer kommen mit der selben schwarzen Beschichtung wie RockShox Pike und verpasst den Monarch-Dämpfern einen schicken Pro-Look. Aber was ist die DebonAir-Technologie im Detail? Was bringt sie und was kann sie auf dem Trail? Im Folgenden findet ihr alle Antworten darauf.

Jed Douglas, RockShox Product Manager, erläutert die DebonAir Technologie.

DebonAir technology is available on Monarch and Monarch Plus models. There is an upgrade kit for previous model years.

Die DebonAir Technologie ist für Monarch und Monarch Plus Modelle verfügbar. Außerdem gibt es ein Upgrade-Kit für vorherige Jahrgänge.

Um die Monarch-Dämpfer-Reihe noch sensibler und schluckfreudiger zu machen, hat RockShox das Volumen der Luftkammern geändert. So haben die Ingenieure die Negativ- wie auch die Positivluftkammer vergrößert — das Resultat ist eine linearere Kennlinie.

While the damping technology stays the same, the DebonAir models have a new air can which makes a big difference in the shock's performance.

Während die Dämpfungstechnologie die selbe bleibt, kommen die DebonAir-Modelle mit einer neuen Luftkammer, die einen großen Performanceunterschied bedeutet.

Laut RockShox bedarf es beim Monarch Plus DebonAir im Vergleich zum aktuellen Monarch Plus rund 30% weniger Kraft, um den Dämpfer zu Beginn des Federwegs zu komprimieren (enorm geringes Losbrechmoment). Das Resultat soll mehr Sensibilität und vor allem verbesserte Traktion auf ruppigen Trails sein.

Left: Monarch Plus DebonAir air reservoir. Right: current air reservoir.

Links: Monarch Plus DebonAir Luftkammer. Rechts: aktuelle Luftkammer mit weniger Volumen.

Die DebonAir Technologie ist optional für den Monarch RT3 und serienmäßig für den Monarch Plus RC3 erhältlich. Gute Nachrichten für alle diejenigen, die bereits einen Monarch oder Monarch Plus Dämpfer besitzen: Die neue Luftkammer ist als Upgrade für alle Monarch und Monarch Plus Modelle 2014, sowie für den Monarch RT3 2013 verfügbar.

Moab's Captain Ahab trail offers some very technical climbing with steep ramps as well as rough underground to put the Monarch Plus DebonAir's performance to the test.

Der Captain Ahab Trail in Moab bietet einige sehr technische Uphills mit steilen Rampen, wie auch rauhe Downhills, um die Performance des Monarch Plus DebonAir’s ordentlich zu testen.

Erster Testeindruck:

Ehrlich gesagt, ist es gar nicht so einfach, die Performance eines Dämpfers ohne jeglichen Vergleich zu testen. Denn zu stark beeinflussen die Hinterbaukinematik des Bikes und der eingestellte Tune die Dämpfungs- und Federungscharakteristik. Aber…

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 debonair monarch plus

Glücklicherweise war das von SRAM zur Verfügung gestellte Testbike (mit dem Monarch Plus DebonAir) ein Giant Trance Advanced SX, welches ich schon mehrere Monate mit Fox-Fahrwerk gefahren bin. So wusste ich, wie sich das Bike mit Fox-Fahrwerk anfühlt und konnte entsprechend einen Vergleich ziehen. Vorneweg: Das Fox-Fahrwerk mit Fox Float X, einem super potenten Dämpfer hatte uns bereits auf voller Länge überzeugt – wie würde es um den Monarch Plus DebonAir stehen?

Auf Moabs sandigen und steinigen Uphills merkt man den Traktionsgewinn und die Sensibilität gegenüber kleinen Unebenheiten bereits auf den ersten Metern. Der Hinterbau klebt einfach am Boden! So fuhren wir in der Ebene und mittelsteilen Anstiegen im „Open“-Modus ohne zusätzlicher Druckstufe. Bei steilen Rampen und an kernigen Stellen wechselten wir auf den „Mid“-Modus der Druckstufeneinstellung, um höher im Federweg zu bleiben, steilere (Sitz- und Lenk-)Winkel beizubehalten und vor allem auch aktiv über die Slickrock-Steine pushen zu können.

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 Rock Shox monarch plus debonair-4

Im Downhill beeindruckte der Monarch Plus DebonAir mit mehr Traktion und einem insgesamt „plusheren“ und satteren Fahrgefühl. Traktion und Schluckfreudigkeit wurden dabei von einem subjektiven Gefühl eines nicht enden wollenden Federwegs begleitet. Durchschläge bei härteren Landungen? Fehlanzeige! Teilweise war es jedoch nicht mehr ganz klar, wo exakt sich der Dämpfer im Federweg befand.

Giant Trance Advanced SX 2014 Rock Shox monarch plus debonair

Fazit: Die DebonAir Technologie verleiht den Monarch und Monarch Plus Modellen einen signifikanten Performance-Benefit für all diejenigen, die sich mehr Traktion und eine höhere Schluckfreudigkeit wünschen. Für steile Uphills empfehlen wir, auf den „Mid“-Modus der Druckstufeneinstellung zu wechseln – das geht weiterhin mit einem einfachen Klick. Auf diese Weise bleibt man insgesamt höher im Federweg und kann aktiver über Hindernisse pushen.

Die RockShox Monarch DebonAir Modelle sind ab Juni 2014 im Handel erhältlich. Den Monarch RT3 DebonAir gibt es ab $365 / 324€, Monarch Plus RC3 DebonAir ab $499 / 444€, das DebonAir Upgrade Kit ab $115.50 / 104.21€.

Weitere Informationen: www.sram.com/rockshox

Text: Robin Schmitt Fotos: Adrian Marcoux, Margus Riga

Neu: Hol dir jetzt ENDURO für Google Currents, um unsere Artikel auf deinem Smartphone oder Tablet zu lesen. Jetzt ausprobieren!

2014_SCB_Nomad_C_Profile_BLU
First Look: Das neue Santa Cruz Nomad

Bei dem ganzen Trubel rund ums Bronson, ist das Santa Cruz Nomad fast in Vergessenheit geraten. Nun bringt die US-Kultmarke...

Schließen