Long. Slack. Low. Three magic words that define modern trail bikes – and there’s hardly any bike on the market that epitomises this mantra better than the NICOLAI G1. But why do I need such radical geometry?

Here you’ll find an overview of the editor’s dream bikes.

Felix’ NICOLAI G1

Well, if you also asked me to use another three words to describe my ideal trail, I’d pick rough, steep and fast. My face literally lights up whenever I hear these words. Here in Stuttgart, where I currently live, most long-travel enduro bikes are total overkill, which is why I prefer to hit my local trails on a lively trail bike. But when the weekend comes around, I’m invariably off to the Alps. Park laps, shuttle runs and high fives are on the menu, Friday through Monday. Exactly with those rowdy weekends in mind, I built my current ‘editor’s bike’: my very first NICOLAI. Since I mostly rely on uplifts to get to the trailhead, weight and all-round characteristics play secondary roles. With my very own dream build, the main focus was on robust and reliable components, grippy tires and a top suspension.

Individualisation – is the G1 versatile after all?

At NICOLAI, the customer is (still) king. Pretty much every bike that leaves the small German factory is individually adapted to the customer’s specifications. Compared with other manufacturers that offer custom bike configurations, NICOLAI takes it one step further. Alongside the colour scheme and spec, you can even specify your own custom geometry for pretty much any bike in the German’s manufacturer portfolio. However, this option does involve an extra charge and means longer waiting times, of course! In my case, a quick glance at the geometry table of the G1-29 was enough to convince me that the numbers for the standard frame, on paper at least, reflect my idea of ‘optimal geometry’. Even then, for fine tuning, I can still adjust the head and seat tube angle, the travel, the bottom bracket height and chainstay length by using what NICOLAI calls ‘Mutators’ – a clever proprietary system of screw-in elements. With the ‘Mutators’ and a special headset, the G1 can also be converted into a 27.5″ rig or even into a mullet bike with a 29″ wheel at the front and a 27.5″ out back.

Fork Manitou Mezzer Pro 180 mm
Shock EXt Storia LOK V3 175 mm
Brakes Trickstuff Maxima 223/203 mm
Drivetrain Shimano XTR 12-Fach
Seatpost ONEUP Components V” Dropper 210 mm
Stem Joystick Binary Stem 50 mm
Handlebar Joystick Analog Carbon 800 mm
Hubs DT Swiss 180
Rims DT Swiss EX511
Tires Schwalbe Magic Mary SG 2.35″

Is it the wrong way round?
Yes, the reverse arch design of the Manitou Mezzer suspension fork takes some getting used to. Once you’re on the trail, the fork delivers an impressive performance and can be adapted to any kind of trail thanks to two air chambers.
Being smooth is not enough.
The clamping system of the Joystick stem allows for easy fitting of the bars. Unfortunately, the bars twisted inside the stem when riding hard. A lot of carbon assembly paste and maxing out the torque eventually solved the issue.
Mighty drop!
The low top tube combined with the longest OneUp V2 Dropper provide space for a whopping 210 mm dropper travel. Freedom of movement anyone?
Classy, comfortable and necessary.
When the rear compresses, the saddle comes dangerously close to the rearwheel – the long dropper travel and low overall height are mainly responsible for this. Developed especially for long-travel 29ers, the WTB High Tail saddle features a deep recess which provides extra clearance for the tire when the rear-end bottoms out.
Silver and made of aluminium: what else?
When approaching a corner my Crank Brothers pedals allow me to rotate my foot a little without clicking out of them. The long axle Mallet E LS are always my first choice. Oh and they are silver!
DIY
Unfortunately, NICOLAI’s chainstay protector is too short and didn’t stop the chain from clattering on the drive side chainstay. LIberal amounts of waved slacker tape solved the problem and I can ride without earplugs in my ears. Sorry Specialized for stealing your idea.
Almost a status symbol
€ 1,100 is a shed load of money for a brake: lots of jealous looks, thousands of questions and insane amounts of braking power are part of the Trickstuff MAXIMA package.
Are we there yet?
Schwalbe’s 2.35″ Magic Mary tires with Super Gravity casing keep me confident on any trail and in almost any weather. It’s only in wet conditions that I use the heavier downhill carcass, even though I’m not riding as fast, because the Magic Mary with Super Gravity Casing is not yet available in the ADDIX Ultra Soft. When Schwalbe, just tell us when?

Let the bike do the work – the suspension

As far as rear travel goes, the G1 can be set up with either 162 mm or 175 mm travel, controlled by an EXT STORIA LOK V3 coil-shock. I opted for the plusher 175 mm setting to match my aggressive riding style. NICOLAI and EXT have joined forces and developed the rear-end kinematics of the G1 to match the characteristics of the STORIA shock. But what’s so special about the shock? It features an additional HBC (hydraulic bottom out control) damping circuit, which significantly increases the compression damping through the last few centimetres of travel and prevents the shock from bottoming out. This allows me to use a slightly softer spring, which gives me 30% sag, as well as run less compression damping, which in turn gives me even more traction. For the fork I chose a Manitou Mezzer Pro. Even after a first brief test session in less than ideal condition, I knew that this fork would suit my riding style and preferences very well. I have previously had the opportunity to try the Dorado Air System on a Dorado downhill fork and was incredibly impressed by its performance. Whilet the initial setup is a little more time-consuming than most other forks, the extra effort is totally worth it considering the fork’s outstanding performance on the trail. Arm pump goodbye! Braking bumps and nasty rock gardens leave the Mezzer just as unfazed as huge drops and steep, rotor-burning trail sections.

Except for downhill racers, no one really needs a DH bike these days. Long travel 29ers, like the G1, happily take anything you throw at them.

Welding seams, CNC porn and tools

Crashes, mechanicals and flat tires are part and parcel of our beautiful game. I want to be prepared for emergencies, but don’t want to have to carry a backpack. The OneUP EDC Multitool has been my faithful companion for years and is still my first choice for quick trailside repairs. In addition, I always carry a spare gear cable with me, which I attach directly onto the tool. While I only use tires with heavy enduro- or even downhill casings, flat tires are sometimes still unavoidable. For those unpleasant moments, I carry a Sahmurai S.W.O.R.D tubeless repair kit in my bar ends. Top tip: you can wrap a spare tire plug in the spiral ribs of the Sahmurai tool to carry more without any hassle. To protect my brake lines from unwanted impacts, I use an ACROS BlockLock headset, which restricts the turning angle of the handlebars and protects the hose from damage. In order to ride without a backpack, I attach all other spares directly onto my bike. Unfortunately, the G1 doesn’t offer a mounting option for a bottle cage, which means I have to carry a soft water pouch in my trousers – a pity. This minor shortcoming aside, the NICOLAI features elegantly finished welds, sealed bearings and plenty of gorgeous CNC elements. The workmanship of the aluminium frame is top notch, with the exception of the chainstay protector, which is clearly too short. I’ve already solved this problem by covering the chainstay with a massive chunk of Slapper Tape.

Carbon included

For my cockpit I paired a Joystick Analog carbon bar with a Binary stem, both for functional and aesthetic reasons. Unfortunately, despite the dappled ‘friction’ finish of the stem clamp area, I found that the handlebar tended to twist in the steam clamp. After liberal application of carbon assembly paste and tightening the stem bolts to the maximum torque of 8 Nm, the problem was solved. Despite their somewhat fiddly installation, I swear by Renthal’s soft-compound push-on grips. Since these don’t rely on a bolted clamp or hard plastic shell, they provide better damping characteristics than lock-on grips. I use hairspray to help stick the grips to the bars and a thin length of wire to prevent them from twisting. There’s one particularly shiny component I haven’t mentioned yet. The beautifully machined Trickstuff MAXIMA brakes, that are currently the most expensive mountain bike stoppers on the market. For a whopping € 1,100 you’ll get yourself an insane amount of braking power and great modulation. Unfortunately, after a small crash, we had some trouble getting the slim seal of the reservoir to work properly again. It took a firm hand, the right sequence of steps and exact torque on each of the three small screws to get us out of this mess.

If you want to ride fast, you’ll need to stop even faster: Trickstuff ‘s MAXIMA brakes are the most aggressive brakes I’ve ever used.

Grip is not just about suspension

The right choice of tires and wheels is decisive when it comes to absorbing vibrations and generating traction. If you’re familiar with my riding style, you’ll know that a carbon rim wouldn’t last five minutes on my bike. Instead, I opted for DT Swiss’ EX 511 aluminium rims. While these have already gone through some rough times, scuffed and dented from several close encounters with sharp rocks, they’re still going strong. I’ve paired the rims with DT Swiss 180 hubs, which help me save weight but are still incredibly robust considering their slim shape. The wheelset is fitted with a pair of Schwalbe’s Magic Mary tires with Super Gravity casing. These allow me to open the gas on almost every trail and in pretty much all conditions while taking advantage of the outstanding puncture resistance and good grip.

Hard to get, impossible not to love!

A 12-speed Shimano XTR drivetrain provides the ideal gear range for my dream build NICOLAI. I’ve used the same groupset on several eMTB builds before and I have always been surprised by the superb performance and precision of the XTR groupset, even when riding under full load with maximum motor support, both up- and downhill. And yet, there’s one minor issue: XTR cranks are currently almost impossible to find. That’s why I’m running a super light E*thirteen TRSr carbon crankset. While Shimano advises against this combination, the setup worked very well for me! Having said that, I still want to test a complete Shimano XTR groupset (cranks included) on my G1.

Stay alert, The G1 is fast!

“It’s not even that long.” That’s what I usually get, when someone sits on my G1. The steep seat angle and high front end, which I raised by using a number of spacers and a riser bar, ensure a comfortable riding position. Sure, it’s not like sitting on a chopper, but the bike feels pleasantly balanced on climbs and you’re nicely integrated between the front and rear wheel. This means that even on very steep climbs, the front wheel doesn’t threaten to lift off the trail and the bike actively encourages you to pedal. The super-sensitive chassis smoothes out even the smallest bumps and ensures tons of traction on the rear wheel, even on sketchy wet trails. However, the descending focus of the G1 makes itself noticed on the way up. With a total weight of 17.03 kg, the G1 isn’t exactly agile, nor is it playful or lively from a standstill. The NICOLAI climbs best on relaxed fire roads, where it makes its way up the hill quickly and in relaxed fashion.

Once you turn its nose downhill, the NICOLAI G1 really comes to life. The bottom bracket is so low that you feel perfectly integrated between the big wheels – which actually feel like they’re metres apart. While everyone has had at least a handful of dreaded OTB moments during their mountain biking life, the NICOLAI doesn’t even know what the acronym means. The G1 may be extremely long, but the rear and front end are balanced and harmonise well. This feeling inspires tons of confidence and provides excellent grip in wide corners on both wheels! And if you happen to get a little too excited and come into a corner too hot, the rear wheel will break out first and drift in a controlled manner. It also leaves you with enough time to have no problems getting back in control. When riding on rough terrain, you need to stay aware of the low bottom bracket (32 mm BB drop) to avoid smashing into rocks and roots with your cranks. And yet, the G1 screams for rough, fast trails. “Hold on tight and pull through,” it whispers into your ear. Both the shock and the fork deal with small irregularities and huge knocks without feeling spongy or undefined. The active and supportive chassis encourages spontaneous line changes and invites you to pop off ledges and obstacles – it’s airtime baby! The NICOLAI easily reaches critical speed – the speed that can transform a small mistake into a massive bang if you’re not careful! If you want to take full advantage of the G1’s rowdy character, you really need to keep focused and look far ahead, because obstacles will fly towards you a lot quicker than expected. Finally, if you’re thinking that such a long bike must feel sluggish and is only suited for bike park laps, you’re totally wrong. Certainly the NICOLAI gets a bit bored on flowy, conservative trails, but it absolutely loves sketchy, technical terrain with tight turns and switchbacks.

Conclusion

When it comes to riding characteristics, my NICOLAI G1 is the incarnation of my wildest dreams. It only truly comes to life when I edge outside my comfort zone but that helps me explore my limits with enough margin to push myself beyond them. Despite the extreme geometry, it performs incredibly well on narrow and twisty trails. It is the life-sized reproduction of the rowdy troublemaker I always imagined in my head.

Tops

  • Great freedom of movement
  • Top workmanship
  • Adjustable geometry and choice of different wheel sizes
  • Tools always ready to hand
  • Top suspension

Flops

  • No mounts for a bottle cage
  • Tool required to remove the front- and rear-axle
  • Stock chainstay protector doesn’t prevent loud chain slap

For more info head to nicolai-bicycles.com. The other Editors’ Choice-Bikes can be found here.


This article is from ENDURO issue #040

ENDURO Mountainbike Magazine is published in a digital app format in both English and German. Download the app for iOS or Android to read all articles on your tablet or smartphone. 100% free!

Words: Felix Stix Photos: Robin Schmitt, Benjamin Topf

About the author

Felix Stix

My technical background has made me the informal workshop manager of the Enduro Mag. Here I prepare the equipment and check the bikes before they’re handed over to our test crew. My nerdy articles and countless explanations are usually the result of me completely dismantling and reassembling a product…
When I ride my enduro bike I love shredding on the toughest downhill trails where I push myself and the material to the limit - and beyond. And when I have to get back up to the top of the hill I like sitting comfortably on a chair lift or in the back of a truck. However when it comes to my daily commute to the ENDURO headquarters I don’t mind pedalling a few kilometres.

Lang, flach, tief– die drei magischen Worte, die aktuell die Mountainbike-Welt bestimmen. Es gibt kaum ein Rad auf dem Markt, das diesen Geometrieansatz so verkörpert wie das NICOLAI G1. Aber wofür brauche ich überhaupt so ein radikales Bike?

Hier findet ihr den Überblick über die Custom-Bikes der ENDURO-Redakteure.

Felix‘ NICOLAI G1

Wie bei der Geometrie gibt es für mich auch bei der Wahl des Trails drei magische Worte: ruppig, schnell, steil. Wenn man einen Trail so beschreibt, wird er mir mit Sicherheit gefallen. In meinem Wohnort Stuttgart sind die meisten Long-Travel-Enduros der absolute Overkill, weshalb ich dort am liebsten auf spritzige Trail-Bikes zurückgreife. Sobald das Wochenende naht, geht es jedoch Richtung Alpen. „Park-Laps, Shuttle-Runs und Good Times“ lautet das bestimmende Motto von Freitag bis Montag. Genau dafür habe ich mir dieses Jahr mit meinem Editor’s Choice Bike einen langjährigen Wunsch erfüllt: mein erstes NICOLAI. Da ich die meiste Zeit mit dem Lift die Schwerkraft überwinde, spielen das Gewicht und die Allround-Eigenschaften bei meinem Dream-Build eine untergeordnete Rolle. Viel wichtiger waren mir robuste und standfeste Komponenten, griffige Reifen und ein top Fahrwerk.

Individualisierung – ist das G1 etwa doch vielseitig?

Bei NICOLAI ist der Kunde noch König. Nahezu alle Bikes, die die kleine Manufaktur in Norddeutschland verlassen, sind individuell an den späteren Besitzer angepasst. Im Vergleich zu anderen Herstellern mit Bike-Konfigurator setzt NICOLAI aber noch einen drauf. Außer Farben und Ausstattung lassen sich auch fast alle Bikes im Portfolio mit einer Wunschgeometrie ordern: gegen Aufpreis und mit längeren Wartezeiten, versteht sich.
Ein Blick in die Geometrietabelle des G1-29 zeigt aber, dass die Werte des Serienrahmens bereits auf dem Papier alle Anforderungen erfüllen, die ich an die Geometrie eines Bikes stelle. Lenk- und Sitzwinkel, Federweg, Tretlagerhöhe und Kettenstrebenlänge lassen sich ohnehin im Nachhinein noch mit sogenannten Mutatoren feintunen. Mit den Mutatoren und einem speziellen Steuersatz lassen sich übrigens auch 27,5”-Laufräder im G1 einbauen. Ein Mix aus 29” vorne und 27,5” hinten ist auch machbar.

Gabel Manitou Mezzer Pro 180 mm
Dämpfer EXt Storia LOK V3 175 mm
Bremsen Trickstuff Maxima 223/203 mm
Antrieb Shimano XTR 12-Fach
Sattelstütze ONEUP Components V“ Dropper 210 mm
Vorbau Joystick Binary Stem 50 mm
Lenker Joystick Analog Carbon 800 mm
Naben DT Swiss 180
Felgen DT Swiss EX511
Reifen Schwalbe Magic Mary SG 2,35″

Ist die falsch rum?
Zugegeben, das Reverse-Arch-Design der Manitou Mezzer-Federgabel ist zunächst gewöhnungsbedürftig. Dafür überzeugt sie auf dem Trail mit einer Top-Performance und lässt sich dank zweier Luftkammern sehr gut an die jeweilige Strecke anpassen.
Fingerspitzengefühl reicht nicht
Die Montage des Lenkers im Joystick-Vorbau soll dank der Klemmung super easy sein. Leider kann sich der Lenker bei harten Schlägen aber leicht verdrehen. Da hilft nur viel Carbon-Montagepaste und das Anzugsmoment der Schrauben mit dem Drehmomentschlüssel aufs Maximum bringen.
Wie tief kommst du runter?
Das niedrige Sitzrohr sorgt in Kombination mit der längsten OneUp-Dropper V2 für satte 210 mm Hub an der Sattelstütze. Bewegungsfreiheit vorhanden!
Schick, bequem und notwendig
Bei so viel Stützenhub und geringer Bauhöhe kommt der Sattel dem Hinterrad beim Einfedern gefährlich nahe. Der WTB High Tail ist extra für langhubige 29er gemacht und bietet dem Reifen dank der Aussparung am Heck genug Platz, auch beim Durchschlagen.
Silbern und aus Aluminium: Prinzip verstanden
Crankbrothers-Pedale bieten mir den gewissen Float, um meinen Fuß vor Kurven auf dem Pedal zu rotieren, ohne sofort auszuklicken. Da war klar, dass die Wahl auf die Mallet E LS mit langer Achse fällt. Oh, und sie sind silbern!
Bastelbude
Der Kettenstrebenschutz von NICOLAI ist leider zu kurz, um Geräusche effektiv zu unterbinden. Mit jeder Menge Slacker-Tape in Wellenform (sorry fürs Klauen der Idee, Specialized!) herrscht endlich Ruhe.
Schon fast ein Statussymbol
1.100 € sind verdammt viel Geld für eine Bremse: Neidische Blicke, interessiertes Nachfragen und unendliche Bremspower gehen mit der Trickstuff MAXIMA einher.
Wie lange müssen wir noch warten?
Mit dem Schwalbe Magic Mary in 2,35” Breite und Super Gravity-Karkasse komme ich auf fast jedem Untergrund gut zurecht. Nur bei feuchten Bedingungen muss ich trotz niedrigerem Tempo zur schwereren Downhill-Karkasse greifen, weil es den Reifen noch nicht in ADDIX Ultra Soft gibt. Wann Schwalbe, wann?

Lass das Bike die Arbeit machen: Das Fahrwerk

Beim Federweg bietet das G1 die Wahl zwischen 162 mm und 175 mm am Heck, wobei ich mich für die 175er-Einstellung entschieden habe. Der Federweg wird von einem EXT STORIA LOK V3- Stahlfederdämpfer kontrolliert. NICOLAI und EXT haben die Hinterbaukinematik des G1 so entwickelt, dass sie perfekt zum STORIA-Dämpfer passen soll. Das Besondere am EXT-Dämpfer ist der zusätzliche HBC-Dämpfungskreislauf, der die Druckstufe auf den letzten Zentimetern des Federwegs deutlich erhöht und Durchschläge reduziert. Dadurch kann ich eine etwas weichere Feder (30 % SAG) und weniger Compression-Dämpfung fahren und so von noch mehr Traktion profitieren. Bei der Gabel habe ich mich für die Manitou Mezzer Pro entschieden. Bereits nach meiner ersten Probefahrt mit ihr war mir trotz nicht idealer Testbedingungen klar, dass sie sehr gut zu meinem Fahrstil und meinen Vorlieben passt. Die Dorado Air-Luftfeder kannte ich schon aus der Dorado-Downhillgabel, wo sie mich bereits voll überzeugen konnte. Auch wenn das Setup etwas mehr Zeit in Anspruch nimmt als bei den meisten anderen Gabeln am Markt, zahlt sich der Aufwand auf dem Trail aus. Armpump ade: Bremsrillen und Steinfelder lassen die Mezzer ebenso unbeeindruckt wie fette Drops oder Steilstücke, bei denen man permanent auf der Bremse steht.

Abgesehen von Downhill-Racern braucht eigentlich keiner mehr ein Downhill-Bike. Long-Travel-29er wie das G1 können es mit wirklich jeder Strecke aufnehmen.

Schweißnähte, Fräßporn und Werkzeug

Crashs, kleine Defekte und platte Reifen gehören zum Biken einfach dazu. Deshalb möchte ich für den Ernstfall gewappnet sein, auch ohne einen Rucksack mitzuschleppen. Das OneUP EDC-Multitool ist mir seit Jahren ein treuer Begleiter und ich hatte damit bis jetzt noch immer das passende Werkzeug für die schnelle Reparatur auf dem Trail. Darüber hinaus habe ich direkt am Tool immer ein Ersatzschaltseil dabei. Auch wenn ich nur auf Reifen mit schweren Enduro- oder gar Downhill-Karkassen unterwegs bin, gehören Platten leider zum Alltag. Deshalb habe ich im Lenkerende mit dem Sahmurai S.W.O.R.D. immer einen Tubeless-Plug parat. Top Tipp: Eine Ersatzsalami könnt ihr einfach in den Hohlraum zwischen den Lamellen verstauen. Um bei einem Crash meine Bremsleitungen nicht zu beschädigen, habe ich den ACROS BlockLock-Steuersatz eingebaut, der den Lenkereinschlag begrenzt. Um ohne Rucksack fahren zu können, muss ich einfach alle Ersatzteile direkt am Bike anbringen. Allerdings hat das G1 keine Montagepunkte für einen Flaschenhalter, weshalb ich auf eine faltbare Trinkflasche in der Hosen-/Bibtasche ausweichen muss – schade. Doch wenn man von diesem Manko absieht, bietet das NICOLAI feinste Schweißnähte, gedichtete Lager und sexy Frästeile im Überfluss. Die Verarbeitungsqualität des Aluminiumrahmens ist auf absolutem Spitzenniveau – mit Ausnahme des deutlich zu kurz geratenen Kettenstrebenschutzes, dem ich bereits nach den ersten Metern mit massig Slapper-Tape zu Leibe gerückt bin.

Carbon ist auch an Bord

Beim Cockpit habe ich nicht zuletzt wegen der Optik zum Joystick Analog-Carbon-Lenker und Binary-Vorbau gegriffen. Leider musste ich feststellen, dass sich der Lenker trotz speziellem Reiblack im Vorbau verdrehen kann. Mit viel Montagepaste und maximalem Drehmoment von 8 Nm habe ich das Problem aber gut in den Griff bekommen. Auch wenn sie sehr mühsam zu montieren sind, schwöre ich auf Renthals Push-On-Griffe mit ihrer weichen Gummimischung. Sie kommen ohne Schraubklemmung und Hartplastik aus und haben deswegen eine sehr gute Dämpfung. Ich verklebe sie mit Haarspray direkt am Lenker und sichere sie mit dünnen Drähten zusätzlich gegen das Verdrehen. Neben ihnen glänzt ein weiteres fein gefrästes Bauteil in der Sonne: Die Trickstuff MAXIMA ist wohl die teuerste Bremse, die es zurzeit auf dem Markt gibt. Für satte 1.100 € liefert sie aber auch brachiale Bremspower bei guter Dosierbarkeit. Nach einem kleinen Crash hatte ich leider einige Mühe, sie an der feinen Membran des Ausgleichsbehälters wieder dicht zu bekommen. Hier sind Fingerspitzengefühl, die richtige Reihenfolge und das Anzugsdrehmoment an den drei kleinen Schrauben von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Wer schnell sein will, muss noch schneller zum Stehen kommen: Die Trickstuff MAXIMA ist die bissigste Bremse, die ich je gefahren bin.

Nicht nur das Fahrwerk sorgt für Grip

Auch Reifen und Laufräder sind für mich ein entscheidender Faktor, wenn es darum geht, Vibrationen zum Dämpfen und Traktion zu generieren. Wer meinen Fahrstil kennt, weiß, dass Carbon-Felgen bei mir keine Chance haben. Stattdessen fiel meine Wahl auf die DT Swiss EX 511-Aluminiumfelgen. Sie haben in der Zwischenzeit bereits einige miese Steinkontakte mitgemacht und ordentlich Dellen davongetragen, halten aber noch immer dicht. Die dazugehörigen DT Swiss 180-Naben helfen mir, ein paar wenige Gramm zu sparen, und sind trotz der schmalen und filigranen Form absolut robust. Komplettiert wird der Laufradsatz von Schwalbes Magic Mary-Reifen in der Super Gravity-Karkasse. Mit ihnen kann ich bei nahezu allen Bedingungen auf fast allen Trails Gas geben und profitiere von ihrem hohen Durchschlagschutz und guten Grip.

Schwer zu kriegen, leicht zu lieben

Für die richtige Übersetzung sorgt an meinem NICOLAI Shimanos XTR 12-fach-Schaltung. Sie bin ich in letzter Zeit immer wieder an E-Mountainbikes gefahren und war trotz maximaler Motorunterstützung extrem positiv überrascht, wie die XTR auch unter Volllast die Gänge schaltet, sowohl hoch als auch runter. Mit dem G1 stand ich jedoch vor dem Problem, dass die aktuellen XTR-Kurbeln zurzeit kaum verfügbar sind. Deshalb habe ich auf die super leichten E*thirteen TRSr-Carbon-Kurbeln zurückgegriffen. Laut Shimano ist die Kombination nicht ideal, erwies sich aber auf dem Trail als absolut top! In Zukunft werde ich eine Shimano XT-Komplettgruppe inklusive Kurbeln am G1 testen.

Sei wach! Das G1 ist schnell

„So lang ist das doch jetzt gar nicht.“ Das habe ich schon einige Male gehört, wenn jemand auf dem G1 Probe gesessen ist. Der steile Sitzwinkel und die – dank Spacern und Riser-Lenker – hohe Front sorgen für eine angenehme Sitzposition. Klar, Chopper-Feeling kommt nicht auf, stattdessen überzeugt das Bike aber bergauf mit einer guten Lastverteilung zwischen Vorder- und Hinterrad. Dadurch bleibt sogar an besonders steilen Rampen das Vorderrad am Boden kleben und es lässt sich angenehm pedalieren. Das super feinfühlige Fahrwerk bügelt zudem selbst kleinste Unebenheiten glatt und sorgt so auch auf feuchten, technischen Trails für richtig viel Traktion am Hinterrad. Trotzdem zollt man dem robusten Konzept des Bikes bergauf Tribut. Richtig spritzig im Antritt, wendig oder gar verspielt ist das G1 nämlich mit seinem Gewicht von knapp 17 kg nicht. Der Wohlfühlbereich im Uphill liegt auf Forststraßen, die sich aber durchaus zügig und dennoch entspannt erklimmen lassen.

Bergab blüht das NICOLAI G1 dafür so richtig auf. Das Tretlager ist so niedrig, dass man sich mittig zwischen den beiden großen Laufrädern wiederfindet, die gefühlt meterweit weg sind. Überschlagsgefühle kennt das NICOLAI nicht. Das G1 mag zwar super lang sein, aber die Balance zwischen Front und Heck ist sehr gut gelungen. Das sorgt für ordentlich Sicherheit und super viel Grip in offenen Kurven an beiden Rädern. Wenn man es dennoch drauf anlegt und zu schnell in eine Kurve zieht, bricht meist der Hinterreifen zuerst aus und driftet kontrolliert. Er lässt sich aber easy wieder einfangen. In ruppigen Passagen ist mit dem tiefen Tretlager (32 mm BB-Drop) hingegen Vorsicht geboten, um nicht mit dem Pedal an Steinen hängen zu bleiben. Dennoch mag es das G1 gerne ruppig und schnell. Festhalten und mit Speed durchziehen gefällt ihm am besten. Dabei bügeln sowohl Dämpfer als auch Gabel alles platt, ohne dabei schwammig oder undefiniert zu sein. Spontan doch abziehen statt durchhacken ist dank hohem Gegenhalt aus dem Fahrwerk kein Problem. Schnell stehen Geschwindigkeiten auf dem Tacho, bei denen jeder Fehler große Konsequenzen mit sich führt. Wer das G1 angemessen bewegen will, muss hellwach sein und extrem weit vorausschauen, denn die Hindernisse tauchen meist früher unter den Reifen auf als vermutet. Wer jetzt denkt, ein so langes Bike wäre träge und nur im Bikepark sinnvoll, der irrt. Klar langweilt sich das NICOLAI auf Flowtrails und bei gemäßigter Fahrweise, aber auch technisch anspruchsvolle, enge und mit Spitzkehren versehene Trails meistert es mit Bravour.

Fazit

Bei den Fahreigenschaften habe ich genau ins Schwarze getroffen: Das NICOLAI G1 blüht da erst richtig auf, wo ich so langsam meine Komfortzone verlasse. Es hilft mir, meine Grenzen auf dem Trail auszuloten, und bietet genug Reserven, um auch mal darüber hinauszuschießen. Trotz der extremen Geometrie funktioniert es auch auf engen und verwinkelten Trails sehr gut. Es ist genau das zuverlässige Baller-Bike geworden, das ich mir vorgestellt habe!

Stärken

  • super viel Bewegungsfreiheit
  • top Verarbeitung
  • einstellbare
  • Geometrie und Laufradgröße
  • Werkzeug immer griffbereit
  • top Fahrwerk

Schwächen

  • kein Flaschenhalter möglich
  • Tool für Vorder- und Hinterachse notwendig
  • lautes Kettenschlagen ohne extra Dämpfung

Mehr Infos zum G1 findet ihr unter: nicolai-bicycles.com. Die anderen Editors‘ Choice-Bikes findet ihr in unserem Übersichtsartikel.


Dieser Artikel ist aus ENDURO Ausgabe #040

Das ENDURO Mountainbike Magazin erscheint auf Deutsch und Englisch im digitalen App-Format. Ladet euch jetzt die App für iOS oder Android und lest alle Artikel auf eurem Tablet oder Smartphone. Kostenlos!

Text: Felix Stix Fotos: Robin Schmitt, Benjamin Topf

Über den Autor

Felix Stix

Durch meinen technischen Hintergrund habe ich mich zum inoffiziellen Leiter unserer Werkstatt gemausert. Hier bereite ich das Equipment für unsere Tests vor und checke die Bikes auf Herz und Nieren. Meine nerdigen Texte mit unzähligen Erklärungen stützen sich meist darauf, dass ich ein Produkt komplett zerlegt und wieder zusammengebaut habe…
Auf dem Enduro scheppere ich am liebsten über die richtig harten Downhillstrecken und bringe dabei mich und das Material an die Grenzen – oder darüber hinaus. Bergauf geht es allerdings gemütlich mit der Gondel oder einem Shuttle. Trotzdem komme ich durch das tägliche Pendeln in die ENDURO-Redaktion auf einige Kilometer im Sattel.