VP Components and Kali Protectives partnered to host the second round of the California Enduro Series at the Dirt Club in Los Olivos, California this past Saturday, April 27. Over the years, the Dirt Club has been the site of Pro XCT, US Cup and Norba AMBC events as well as numerous high school league races-and now they have embraced enduro.

Each class tackled between six and eight stages in two sessions divided by a lunch break. Racers were treated to energy replacement drinks courtesy MRI Endurance, a taco bar dinner and plenty of cold brew. An impressive array of prizes was provided courtesy Kenda, TRP Brakes, Element Cases, Demos Watches, Ergon, DZR Shoes, SR Suntour, Shredly, Loeka, KMC Chain, Cane Creek, Rikers, Hitcase, 100%, MRP, and Alex Rims.


The courses ranged in nature from super fast with stunts and technical flowing tracks to full-on power to the pedals Super D.

In the Pro Men field, young Marco Osborne (WTB/Cannondale) came out on top over the winner of last year’s Santa Cruz Super Enduro, Aaron Bradford (BMC Trailcrew) and local crusher Tom Doran. After Session 1 (Stages 1-4), Marco-with a total time of 6:47.4-led over CES Board Member Evan Turpen by 9 seconds and Kona’s Ryan Gardener by 13 seconds.

The second session added a bit more pedaling to the equation and the top three came under serious assault from the riders who could push big watts. Aaron Bradford and Daniel Orellana (Itsa Bike Shop) powered through Session 2 (stages 6-8) to tie for the best time in 9:03.7, but were only able to best Osborne by 3 seconds. Bradford’s quad searing effort did not knock Osborne off the top step of the overall podium, but it did vault him from 8th place after Session 1 into 2nd in the overall. Tom Doran’s off season power training paid off lifting him from 6th to 3rd.

In the Pro Women’s field, Margaret Gregory (Don’s Bikes) dominated in the first four stages by 22 seconds over Holly Breck and a further 3 seconds over Jenna Kowalski. Like the Pro Men’s race, Gregory encountered a challenge over the remaining courses, but she still posted the best time in Session 2 at 9:36.2, only 3 seconds better than Breck with a further 4 seconds to Kowalski.


VP Components naturally appreciates the generous support of event sponsors, but is also extremely grateful to the riders, their friends and family who attended the event. With a staggering 170 racers, the crew was stretched to the max, but happy to please such an impressive number of riders and spread the enduro stoke.

Pro Men Podium

  1. Marco Osborne (Cannondale OverMountain)
  2. Aaron Bradford (BMC Trail Crew)
  3. Tom Doran (Art’s Cyclery)
  4. Ryan Gardner (Kona/Gardner Racing)
  5. Anthony Medgalia (SRAM)

Pro Women Podium

  1. Margaret Gregory (Don’s Bikes)
  2. Holly Breck (SC Velo/InCycle)
  3. Jenna Kowalski (Cynergy Cycles)
  4. Ariana Alier (ONE/TNT Athletic)
  5. Jackie Swider (Art’s Cyclery)

Full results can be found at, more pictures can be found on flickr:

Did you enjoy this article? If so, we would be stoked if you decide to support us with a monthly contribution. By becoming a supporter of ENDURO, you will help secure a sustainable future for high-quality mountain bike journalism. Click here to learn more.

About the author

Aaron Steinke

Aaron was our first employee and actively helped make our company what it is today, significantly shaping the look and direction of our various magazines. Aaron has been pursuing his own projects since mid-2020 but he continues to advise and support us on issues of marketing and technology. For many years, you would usually have found Aaron at casual enduro races, but increasingly you'll find him riding his road bike – long live freedom on two wheels!