After a long but fantastic season this weekend participants had one last chance to give everything in the Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series. In front of a breath-taking Alpine background 220 riders fought their way through five energy-sapping stages on the final stop of the race series. Alongside flow trails rock gardens, root sections and tricky steep trails made for a demanding course. The quickest lady was Anneke Beerten, whilst Tobias Reiser was victorious in the men’s category. Anneke Beerten and Fabian Scholz secured the overall series wins.

Leogang war die Kulisse des Finales der Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series 2014. Hier Daniel Schlemmel, der später auf den zweiten Platz fuhr.
Leogang/Saalbach Hinterglemm was the backdrop for the final of the Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series 2014. Here you can see Daniel Schlemmel, on his way to second place.
Die Streckenführung war vielseitig, teils ging es über Bikeparkelemente ins Tal
The trails were varied and even included bike park sections
Gute Stimmung am Start der Pro Women, Annecke Beerten im Vordergrund
Great atmosphere at the start of the Pro Women’s race

With 55km distance and around 2000 metres climbing the tough enduro race included a high amount of singletrack riding on the transfers along the mountain ridge between Saalfelden Leogang and Saalbach Hinterglemm. Riders were rewarded the mostly gleaming sunshine and exceptional clear views over snow capped mountain summits and jagged cliffs. Even for non-racers there was plenty going on with the Biketember Festival, iXS European Downhillcup and Scott Junior Trophy all taking place at the same time. Many visitors made the journey to Saalfelden-Leogang for the great supporting events and rider party. The prologue race a day before the main enduro event was particularly exciting with numerous excited spectators and animating commentary.

Bis auf einige wenige REgenschauer nachts und beim Prolog zeigte sich das Wetter von seiner besten Seite
Apart from a few showers during the prologue and overnight the weather was on best behaviour
Beeindruckende Weitsicht bei der SSES in Leogang
The impressively clear view at the SSES in Leogang/Saalbach Hinterglemm

Whilst the training day was sunny and trails were dry as a bone a short but heavy shower drenched the remaining riders and trails in the afternoon. The many and partially very steep root sections became much harder to negotiate especially for the amateur racers who had a later start time.

Die Strecken waren gespickt mit fordernden Teilstücken
The trails were packed full of tricky sections
An ihr führt derzeit kein Weg vorbei: Anneke Beerten dominiert die Pro Women Kategorie
Currently there’s no way of getting past her: Anneke Beerten dominated the Pro Women’s category
Fabian Scholz, der Gewinner der Serie, nutzt hier die übersichtliche Streckenführung um mit offener Bremse viel Speed aufkommen zu lassen.
Fabian Scholz, the overall series winner makes good use of the well laid out course to let the brakes off and build up full speed

Stage 1, was only timed for the Pro class riders and took riders through 4 km of heavy root sections, albeit without steep gradients. Good riding technique and power management were immensely important here if you wanted to avoid a forced break halfway through the stage. Stage 2 followed the well known X line a challenge made up of numerous berms, natural rock drops and jumps. Getting off the brakes and building up full speed on the straights was the key to gaining valuable seconds here. Stages 3 – 5 were really technical with steep, slippery roots and descents packed with drops.
The last stage included many tight switchbacks and exposed wooded features.

Tobias Reiser fährt die Tagesbestzeit
Tobias Reiser recorded the best time of the day

Tobias Reiser (GER – Focus Trail Team) conquered the five demanding stages quickest with a time of 33:48.15 minutes. Just a blink of an eye slower was second placed Daniel Schemmel, with just a 15 hundredth of a second time difference. Markus Reiser (GER – Focus Trail Team) was third followed by James Shirley (GBR – Radon Factory Enduro) and Ludwig Döhl (GER – Cube Action Team).

Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series Leogang 2014 - Podium Pro Men
Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series Leogang/Saalbach Hinterglemm 2014 – Podium Pro Men
Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series Leogang 2014 - Podium Pro Women
Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series Leogang/Saalbach Hinterglemm 2014 – Podium Pro Women

In the Pro Women’s race it wasn’t quite as tight, Anneke Beerten (NED – Specialized Racing) dominated with a time of 40:38.54 and almost 4 minutes advantage over second place in-spite of a time penalty incurred during the prologue for inadvertently leaving the course. Birgit Braumann (AUT – Trek Gravity Girls) rode a strong race to finish second ahead of Antje Kramer (GER – Giant Germany). Sofia Wiedenroth (GER – AMG Rotwild MTB Racing) was close behind and Laura Brethauer (GER – Cube Action Team) secured fifth place.

In the Masters category Remo Heutschi (SUI – was victorious with an overall time of 35:53.96, Benjamin Herold (GER – NRG-FOES Racing Factory Team) secured second place and Damiano Rossa (ITA – A.S. Dillentantistica) third. The fastest rider in Amateur Men was Leonhard Putzenlechner (GER – ENVE Composites), with an overall time of 24:12.01 minutes. Second place went to Daniel von Kossak (GER – Propain Factory Racing) who was 30 seconds slower. Ruben Torenbeek (NED – ENDURO-MTB.COM) managed a great third place on his first ever Enduro race. Sabrina Wolf (AUT) was the fastest in the Amateur Women’s category.

ENDURO Dauertester Ruben Torenbeek erreichtbei seinem ersten Endurorennen überhaupt Platz 3
ENDURO Long-term tester Ruben Torenbeek managed a great third place on his first ever Enduro competition

The overall series victory after six events this year in the Pro Men went to Fabian Scholz of the Focus Trail Team. Scholz rode consistently this year so that even his 8th place in Leogang/Saalbach Hinterglemm did not endanger his overall series lead. Ludwig Döhl and Markus Reiser followed in places two and three. Petrick Brückner was fourth overall ahead of André Wagenknecht, who secured a podium place with just three races completed.

Die schnellsten Herren der Serie: Podium der Seriengesamtwertung 2014 Pro Men
The fastest men in the series: podium for the overall series 2014 Pro Men
Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series 2014 Gesamt-Podium Pro Women
Specialized-SRAM Enduro Series 2014 Overall-podium Pro Women

In the Pro Women’s class Anneke Beerten celebrated a perfect season and reached the maximum available points. Raphaela Richter and Birgit Braumann followed with places two and three. Remo Heutschi won the Men’s Master class over Benjamin Herold and Guido Wachter. With a win on the day Leonhard Putzenlechner secured the overall victory in the Men’s Amateur category just a few points ahead of Daniel von Kossak and Jannik Schlickel. In the Amateur Women’s race Anja Düthmann saw off Stephanie Frankl and Manuela Drenska.

All results can be found as usual at

Words: Tobias Döring Pictures: Hanno Polomsky

Did you enjoy this article? If so, we would be stoked if you decide to support us with a monthly contribution. By becoming a supporter of ENDURO, you will help secure a sustainable future for high-quality mountain bike journalism. Click here to learn more.