Ma kje je letos ta burja?

On the first weekend of 2013, held in a secret location, top riders from the Slovenian enduro scene get together with some downhillers and XC riders for a timed session. In the true spirit of enduro the race was very relaxed, but with some very experienced racers involved, the competitive element was strong.


An exclusive invitation brought 19 men and 3 women to a secret location in Slovenia for a chance to test themselves, their new bikes (the ones lucky enough to already have them this early in the season) and a chip timing system, over a 5-stage enduro race.


Among them were most of the countries top riders in this young discipline, which will see its first official National series held this season. Italian Superenduro series specialists like former cross-country Olympian Primož Štrancar and another ex-XC rider Robert Kordež (both Orbea Geax Team) were joined by downhill champions Miran Vauh (Črn trn GT), Nejc Rutar and Žiga Pandur (both Unior Tools Team), XC eliminator World Championships silver medalist Miha Halzer (, 2012 4X European Championships 6th placed Kristjan Medvešček (Črn trn) and the rest of the colourful bunch.


On the women’s side the former Junior and Under 23 cross-country World Champion Tanja Žakelj went against all-rounder Ana Zupan (XCO, XCE and enduro rider for and downhill national champ Zarja Černilogar (Črn trn GT).

Kordež goni bando na enem od transferjev

Sunny weather and temperatures well over 10 degrees made the 1.500 m of climbing comfortable, and the five timed stages were held over epic single-track. Just under 20 minutes of full on racing provided an excellent start to the 2013 season, and was a big boost to the riders motivation.



1. Tanja Žakelj 21:15
2. Ana Zupan +2:12
3. Zarja Černilogar +4:22

1. Kristjan Medvešček 18:29
2. Primož Štrancar +0:17
2. Anže Žabjek +0:17
4. Miran Vauh +0:24
5. Miha Halzer +0:33
6. Žiga Pandur +1:00
7. Anže Bizjak +1:13
8. Sebastjan Stres +1:15
9. Nejc Rutar +1:18
10. Jaka Tancik +1:39
11. Blaž Černigoj +2:10
12. Mitja Černe +2:48
13. Tadej Razpet +3:04
14. Nejc Černilogar +3:22
15. Dušan Mesesnel +4:53
16. Jure Žabjek +10:21
17. Robi Kordež +12:54

iLeGaL Enduro 2013 from TRBOWLE TV on Vimeo.

Photos: Vanja Kodermac

Did you enjoy this article? If so, we would be stoked if you decide to support us with a monthly contribution. By becoming a supporter of ENDURO, you will help secure a sustainable future for high-quality mountain bike journalism. Click here to learn more.